Liberty Certified as 28th Kentucky Trail Town

Liberty, Ky. (October 31, 2022) - The Department of Parks announced that Liberty in Casey County has officially been certified as the commonwealth’s 28th Kentucky Trail Town

“We are excited to continue to add these communities to the list of outdoor destinations across Kentucky,” said Russ Meyer, commissioner of the Department of Parks. “The interest in Kentucky’s outdoor opportunities continues to grow, and our Trail Towns and State Parks are some of the best places to get these experiences.”

The Kentucky Trail Town Program is a tourism and economic development initiative designed to provide a strategic plan for communities to capitalize on local travel opportunities. Formerly managed by the Department of Tourism, the Kentucky Department of Parks now oversees the Trail Town Program. This new structure will benefit state parks and the communities they serve across the commonwealth. Kentucky’s 28 trail towns have committed to sharing their outdoor opportunities, culture, history and stories with Kentuckians and travelers alike.

The program also seeks to increase healthy physical activities by improving access to trails and recreational areas. Liberty boasts a wide offering of outdoor experiences. Notably, the Green River provides great water trail access, and paddling and fishing are also available at nearby Lake Liberty. Local volunteers have successfully developed their own local trail systems, including the Shut In Road Trail, Lake Liberty Trail System and the Liberty Island Trail. In addition to these offerings, visitors can also experience the Central Kentucky Ag Expo Center, which hosts several events throughout the year and is connected to downtown via the Liberty Island Trail. A visit to Liberty wouldn’t be complete without a stop at the regionally famous Bread of Life Café for some home-cooked favorites.   

For a complete list of offerings in and around Liberty and Casey County, visit the Liberty Tourism website at  

Liberty joins Dawson Springs, Livingston, Morehead, Olive Hill, London, Stearns, Elkhorn City, Jamestown, Manchester, Berea, Columbia, Royalton, the Harlan County Tri-Cities of Cumberland, Benham & Lynch, McKee, Slade, Munfordville, Cave City & Horse Cave, Campbellsville, Irvine & Ravenna, Hazard, Elizabethtown, Morgantown, Park City, Livermore, Burkesville, & Hyden as Kentucky Trail Towns.  

For more information on Kentucky State Parks, visit For more details on exploring Kentucky’s great outdoors, including Kentucky Trail Towns, visit