Hyden Certified as 27th Kentucky Trail Town

HYDEN, Ky. (October 22, 2022) - Today, the Department of Parks announced that Hyden, in Leslie County, has officially been certified as the commonwealth’s 27th Kentucky Trail Town.

“This is the second Trail Town announcement since moving the program to the Department of Parks,” said Russ Meyer, commissioner of the Department of Parks. “We’re excited to add Hyden to the growing list of exciting destinations. These communities and our 45 State Parks represent some of the best outdoor recreation in the Commonwealth and serve as vital economic and physical health drivers.”

The Kentucky Trail Town Program is a tourism and economic development program designed to provide a strategic plan for communities to capitalize on travel opportunities within a respective community. Formerly managed in the Department of Tourism, the Trail Town Program is now overseen by the Kentucky Department of Parks. The new structure should benefit state parks and communities they serve across the commonwealth. Each of Kentucky’s 27 trail towns has made the public commitment to share their outdoor opportunities, culture, history and stories with guests hungry for adventure.

The program also seeks to grow opportunities for healthy physical activities by increasing access to trails and recreational areas. Downtown Hyden is home to the Middle Fork of the Kentucky River and several local trails built and managed by city officials and local volunteers. The Middle Fork flows out of Buckhorn Lake, home to Buckhorn Lake State Resort Park. In addition, Hyden serves as a major access point for an extensive network of off-road trails for ATVs, Side by Sides and other off highway vehicles.

Hyden officials share their designation in conjunction with their second annual Fall Color Ride. A signature event for the volunteer group, “Trails of Leslie County” this fall trail ride includes food, guided trail rides and plenty of fun for the whole family.

Hyden joins Dawson Springs, Livingston, Morehead, Olive Hill, London, Stearns, Elkhorn City, Jamestown, Manchester, Berea, Columbia, Royalton, the Harlan County Tri-Cities of Cumberland, Benham & Lynch, McKee, Slade, Munfordville, Cave City & Horse Cave, Campbellsville, Irvine & Ravenna, Hazard, Elizabethtown, Morgantown, Park City, Livermore & Burkesville as Kentucky Trail Towns.

For more information on Kentucky State Parks visit www.parks.ky.gov For more information on exploring Kentucky’s great outdoors including Kentucky Trail Towns visit Kentuckytourism.com.