Burkesville Certified as 26th Kentucky Trail Town

BURKESVILLE, Ky. (October 18, 2022) - Today, the Department of Parks announced that Burkesville in Cumberland County has officially been certified as the commonwealth’s 26th Kentucky Trail Town.

“We’re excited to see the Trail Town program continue to grow in Kentucky,” said Russ Meyer, commissioner of the Department of Parks. “Along with our 45 State Parks there are thousands of miles of trails and waterways in Kentucky. Trail Towns are ideal destinations for outdoor recreation lovers. The program helps drive local and state economies and is an ever-increasing component of the nation’s economic impact. It also brings about more healthy activities and vibrant communities and parks.”

The Kentucky Trail Town Program is a tourism and economic development program designed to provide a strategic plan for communities to capitalize on travel opportunities within a respective community. Formerly managed by the Department of Tourism, the Trail Town Program is now overseen by the Kentucky Department of Parks. This new structure should benefit state parks and communities they serve across the commonwealth. Each of Kentucky’s 26 trail towns have made the public commitment to share their outdoor opportunities, culture, history and stories with guests hungry for adventure.

The program also seeks to grow opportunities for healthy physical activities by increasing access to trails and recreational areas. The highlight of the Trail Town offerings in Burkesville center around the Cumberland River and the connection to their downtown area. The Cumberland River through Burkesville offers great boating, fishing, and paddling. Local officials have worked to connect the town and its resources to the river to offer a complete visitor experience. Burkesville is also home to scenic Dale Hollow Lake State Resort Park. Anchored by the world-renowned Dale Hollow Lake and its amazing fishery, the state park offers an 18-hole golf course, full-service lodge, marina, campground and extensive trail network. To learn more about all Burkesville has to offer visit www.explorecumberlandcounty.com.

Burkesville joins Dawson Springs, Livingston, Morehead, Olive Hill, London, Stearns, Elkhorn City, Jamestown, Manchester, Berea, Columbia, Royalton, the Harlan County Tri-Cities of Cumberland, Benham & Lynch, McKee, Slade, Munfordville, Cave City & Horse Cave, Campbellsville, Irvine & Ravenna, Hazard, Elizabethtown, Morgantown, Park City & Livermore as Kentucky Trail Towns.

For more information on Kentucky State Parks visit www.parks.ky.gov For more information on exploring Kentucky’s great outdoors including Kentucky Trail Towns visit Kentuckytourism.com.