Judicial Nominating Commission announces circuit judge nominees for Henry, Oldham and Trimble counties

FRANKFORT, Ky., Nov. 19, 2020 – The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced nominees to fill the circuit judicial vacancy for Henry, Oldham and Trimble counties. The counties make up the 12th Judicial Circuit and the vacancy is in the circuit’s Division 1.

The three nominees for the judgeship are attorneys Jerry David Crosby II of Goshen, Kristen Hannah Fowler of Crestwood and Brittany Bailey McKenna of Prospect.

Crosby serves as a District Court judge for Henry, Oldham and Trimble counties. He received his juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Fowler serves as an attorney with the law firm of Napier Gault Schupbach & Stevens in Louisville. She received her juris doctor from Indiana University Maurer School of Law.

McKenna serves as an attorney with the law firm of Napier Gault Schupbach & Stevens in Louisville. She received her juris doctor from the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law.

The judicial seat became vacant when Judge Karen A. Conrad retired Sept. 1.

Circuit Court
Circuit Court is the court of general jurisdiction that hears civil matters involving more than $5,000, capital offenses and felonies, divorces, adoptions, termination of parental rights, land dispute title cases and contested probate cases.

Judicial Nominating Commission
The Judicial Nominating Commission helps fill judicial vacancies by appointment when a vacancy occurs outside of the election cycle. The Kentucky Constitution established the JNC. Ky. Const. § 118; SCR 6.000, et seq.

Judicial Nominating Process
 When a judicial vacancy occurs, the executive secretary of the JNC publishes a notice of vacancy in the judicial circuit or the judicial district affected. Attorneys may recommend someone or nominate themselves. The names of the applicants are not released. Once nominations occur, the individuals interested in the position return a questionnaire to the Office of the Chief Justice. Chief Justice Minton then meets with the Judicial Nominating Commission to choose three nominees. Because the Kentucky Constitution requires that three names be submitted to the governor, in some cases the commission submits an attorney’s name even though the attorney did not apply. A letter naming the three nominees is sent to the governor for review. The governor has 60 days to appoint a replacement and his office makes the announcement.

Makeup of the Judicial Nominating Commission
The commission has seven members. The membership is comprised of the chief justice of Kentucky (who also serves as chair), two lawyers elected by all the lawyers in their circuit/district and four Kentucky citizens who are appointed by the governor. The four citizens appointed by the governor must equally represent the two major political parties, so two must be Democrats and two must be Republicans. It is the responsibility of the commission to submit a list of three names to the governor and the governor must appoint a judge from this list of three.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort is the operations arm for the state court system. The AOC supports the activities of nearly 3,400 court system employees and 406 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.